642 Things – 88: Three objects in your childhood bedroom.

1. Red bricks – ok, not actual red bricks. It was a set of small rectangular cardboard boxes painted to look like bricks, and you could build structures out of them. About as simple as a toy could be, but I recall hours of fun with them as a child, not the least of which was building small structures and training our dog to leap over them.

2. A Marble Run – I don’t know how many of you guys had these as kids. It’s basically a large collection of weird plastic shapes that can all fit together in dozens of different ways, and then you can watch marbles travel from the top to the bottom of your creation. Again, endless fun.

3. A Transformer – In case you haven’t noticed, I had a happy childhood, and because of that I occasionally get it into my head to track down things from my childhood. I’ve occasionally re-read books from middle school, or hunted down a movie I had seen once, and I still hold Earthbound up as the gold standard of video games. I tell you all of this so that you understand what I’m talking about when I say that I have never been able to find this Transformer since. I don’t even know what his name was. He was a red Transformer, and he turned into…sort of like an SUV. He looked vaugely like the SUV that we had at the time. I know it wasn’t Optimus Prime, because he turned into an 18 Wheeler, this was nowhere near that impressive. His fists we detachable, and he had some kind of walking mechanism, which was mainly him rocking back and forth.

Having learned from the Fievel Fiasco, which you’ll read about tomorrow, my parents made it a habit of quietly sneaking out my toys when they thought I wouldn’t notice. Toys that they thought I’d never touch again, and they wouldn’t tell me they were doing it, because even then if I did notice a missing toy, the could claim that I must have lost it somewhere. I know this because I caught them TWICE trying to get rid of this Transformer…but the third time they succeeded, because here I am a full grown man and I have no idea where my Transformer is. I’d still be really curious as to his name though, I’ve never seen one like it since, even Google Image Search lets me down.

So there you go, three things that stick in my memory from my childhood bedroom….and since all 3 are toys, let’s do a bonus 4th.

4 – Along the walls of my bedroom was a starscape. It was just a banner that ran the entire length all the walls in the room, maybe 3 or 4 inches tall, of various planets and stars. Yeah, I remember that.
 

 

 

 

 

Unlike my two books (“The Great Platypus Caper” and “The Coconut Monkey Horror”) I can not promise that each entry in my 642 things to write about series will be true stories drawn from my life, I’ll leave the amount of truth in each entry up to your imagination.
Want to stretch your writing muscles as well? Post your response to the writing prompt in the comments section. I’d love to see it.

