642 Things – 82: An estranged mother and son who haven’t seen of spoken to each other in more than twenty years meet in line at the post office in December, arms full of packages to be mailed. What do they say to each other?

Mother: Excuse me sir, would you mind moving forward just a little bit so I can set these down?
Son: Sure, no probl….oh….hi.
Mother: …..hi.
Awkward silence for at least a minute.
Son: Oh, here, let me give you some space.
Mother: Thank you.
More silence, more awkwardness, and the line never moves.
Son: So, you’re mailing some packages?
Mother: Yeah, just sending some stuff to the nieces and nephews, they’re growing up so fast. You?
Son: Same.
Mother: Oh.
Son: I hope we didn’t buy them the same things, that would be awkward.
Mother: Yeah, that….that would be awkward.
Silence.
Son: So, how’s Tony?
Mother: Oh, Tony and I got divorced about ten years ago, I don’t even know where he is.
Son: Oh.
Mother: Your aunt Bridget mentioned you got married?
Son: Yeah, 6 years ago, we just had our second daughter.
Mother: Oh. I guess I’m a grandmother now.
Son: Yeah, I guess so.
Mother: Well I feel bad, I didn’t buy anything for my granddaughters.
Son: No, it’s fine, their other grandma always spoils them, don’t worry about it.
Mother: Oh.
Silence reigns.
Mother: Do you think we could…
Son quickly takes out his cellphone and makes a call. The call is full of business talk, and then socializing, but it all seems forced, and it is clear that the call is ended by the other party long before Son is ready to stop talking.

Silence reigns yet again.

Finally the line moves, as Son goes up to ship his packages he turns to his mother one last time.

Son: Well…see you around.
Mother: Yeah….see you, I guess.

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unlike my two books (“The Great Platypus Caper” and “The Coconut Monkey Horror”) I can not promise that each entry in my 642 things to write about series will be true stories drawn from my life, I’ll leave the amount of truth in each entry up to your imagination.
Want to stretch your writing muscles as well? Post your response to the writing prompt in the comments section. I’d love to see it.

Leave a Reply

